Home > A Letter To... > Day 4: A Letter to a Sibling

Day 4: A Letter to a Sibling

Dear Sibling,

Being only 3 years apart, it was easy for us to bicker. Did I say bicker? -Because I meant spontaneously break out in combat to the death of our pride. Sometimes there wasn’t even a reason to be fighting. Remember that time you decided you wanted to practice some of your martial arts moves? Long story short you put an empty ice cream bucket over my head as a substitute for a helmet and did a jump kick.

(On the right) Now imagine this, but like over a decade ago and in our room. Yeah, that was us.


I was too young to know what was going on, but if there was one thing I did know, it was how to do a fetal position. Good times. I’ve always wanted to be jump kicked. Thanks bro!

And then there was that time you took me to school. I didn’t go to school but you wanted me to come with you. Together we walked there and I remember you introducing me to your class. I don’t know WHY you did that. You must have been so proud I was your sister you wanted to show the class! Yeah, that’s the story I’m going with. Your teacher had this “what the @#!% is this kid doing bringing his sister here” look, followed by a “what the !%^! do I do” look. I just sat in the office until I got picked up. Thanks bro! I got a jump start to education. Lesson one: don’t take kids to your class. (Btw I failed. When I started school I ended up bringing Helen to my class once and introduced her. Why? I do not know.)

Fights were basically a way to show what we were made of. Thing is I’ve already figured out what you’re “made of.” Here’s how it breaks down:

10% Snakes, snails, and puppy dog tails
3% Blueberries (sour ones)
24% Brain so powerful and high-pitched that only dogs can understand the decisions it makes sometimes
6% Digestive system capable of breaking down every food. No matter how much you eat, you don’t get fat
10% Diarrhea of the mouth and constipation of ideas
32% Adamantium endoskeleton that renders you impervious to the jokes/teases I pitch
12% Computer geek
6% Awesome

Total: 100% what a brother should be. Thanks bro!

Categories: A Letter To...
  1. Andrei Gravura
    July 23, 2010 at 8:01 am

    I do comment on blogs – not to leave a digital footprint – which of course is good, but because I really appreciate all the time and effort someone goes through to post useful information. Which by the way, you offer great insight into this. Thanks!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

